My Week at Nottingham Post

I’ve officially finished my week of work experience at Nottingham Post. I was given a whole variety of things to do, starting the week off with some Splendor festival related pieces, then moving on into seeking out events to include in the ‘What’s on in July’ and ‘Out and About’ sections of the magazine. I even managed to have a phone conversation with Jon from The Fratellis, but that’s all I’m going to say about that. Except for that he is so laid back, easy to talk to, and thinks he is boring. I’m a huge fan of what society deems ‘boring’ so I could definitely relate.

But it was the middle of the week when it really got interesting. One thing that each day had in common was rain. It just didn’t want to let up, so what do we do? We make a story out of it. I was sent to Wollaton Park to do an article on 9 things that are still fun at Wollaton Park even in the rain. I loved being in the rain and walking round one of my favourite parks for the day. I’ve been there many times before, and not seen that many deer, but on a rainy day I saw loads. They all came together to shelter, and I got some great shots of them. I’d definitely go again on a rainy day. I spend most of the day there getting photo and video footage, and I went on two tours! All in all, it was a good day out, even if my feet did hurt by the end of the day.

Wollaton Hall

Seeing as my main area of interest is literature, on Thursday I got to go to Waterstones to pick the 10 ten books about Nottingham. I’m always at home in a bookshop, so I enjoyed standing in front of the bookshelves scribbling notes into my notebook. I couldn’t have looked more bookish if I tried.

A shelf of John Harvey books

After that, I wrote a short piece on ‘What do to in Nottingham This Weekend’ (which is in today’s paper!) and one on Where to take Dad for Brunch on Father’s Day, which I think will be in tomorrow’s paper.

My bit in the paper

So, my last day…what did I get up to? Well, I went to Poundland. To do an article on weird/wacky stuff you can pick up for £1. There were definitely some odd items in there. But I actually ended up buying something. Nothing weird, just some pencils (my favourite pencils might I add).

Two of my articles are now online, and here are the links if you want to read them:

9 fun things to do at Wollaton Hall even when it rains

10 top reads every Nottingham dad should have on their bookshelf

Jade

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment